Organization of Turkic States

The Cooperation Council of Turkic Speaking States is an intergovernmental organization registered at the United Nations that was founded on October 3, 2009 in Nakhichevan. The organization is headquartered in Istanbul and since 2018, its Secretary General is Baghdad Amreyev.

Along with the member states – Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan and Turkey – since 2018 Hungary and from 2021 Turkmenistan has been actively involved in the work of the organization as an observer member.

The Mission

For centuries, Turks have shaped global history and established rich civilizations in their geographies. They built and ruled numerous empires and states in the vast area stretching from Europe to India and from the Pacific to North Africa. Today, after almost three hundred years of break up and hardship, Turkic States, conscious of their common roots and identity, have entered a period of close cooperation, building stronger and sounder relations, and designing their common future together. October 3 is celebrated annually as the Day of Turkic Cooperation and Unity.

The member states and the Organization of Turkic States itself are looking for answers to a number of questions that are a legacy of the past or a challenge of the present. A particularly important goal is to create a unified geopolitical, geo-economic and cultural region, while preserving national characteristics. The main forums for cooperation at present are the Summits at the level of the Heads of States, the Council of Foreign Ministers, Senior Officials Committee, and Council of Elders. The organization also rallies active coordination and cooperation among the Parliaments, governments, various ministries, Chambers of Commerce and Industry, academia and universities of the member states. In addition to the existing fora, the prospective Turkic Investment Fund is aimed at providing assistance and support in the future to eliminate economic disparities within the region and to create a Turkic cohesion.